Major Crash Review Task Force

Governing Agency / Agency Acronym: 
District Department of Transportation (DDOT)
Expiration date: 
Monday, July 9, 2018

Point of contact: Jonathan M. Rogers Telephone: (202) 741-5960 Email:

The Major Crash Review Task Force analyzes every crash handled by the Major Crash Unit of the Metropolitan Police Department and recommends to the Mayor and the Council changes to the District's statutes, regulations, policies, and infrastructure that the Task Force believes would reduce the number of crashes in the District resulting in serious injury or death. The Task Force consists of voting members from The Metropolitan Police Department, The Director of the District Department of Transportation, The Office of Planning, The Bicycle Advisory Council, The Pedestrian Advisory Council, and The Multimodal Accessibility Advisory Council. Non-voting members from the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Department of For-Hire Vehicles also participate. The Task Force is only allowed to review crashes upon receipt of notice that the United States Attorney's Office for the District of Columbia and the Attorney General for the District of Columbia has declined to bring any prosecutions related to the crash; or, in the event there is a criminal proceeding against an individual involved in the crash, the issuance of a final judgment in the criminal proceeding.



Agency Status Representative Alternate
Metropolitan Police Department Voting & Co-Chairperson Lt. Ronald T. Wilkins Sgt. Terry Thorne
District Department of Transportation Voting & Co-Chairperson Sam Zimbabwe Suzette Robinson
Office of Planning Voting Kristin Calkins Timothy Maher
Pedestrian Advisory Council Voting Eileen McCarthy Ameen Beale
Bicycle Advisory Council Voting David Cranor Jeff Johnson
Multimodal Accessibility Advisory Council Voting Helen Urquhart Kristin Duquette
Department of For-Hire Vehicles Non-Voting Dennis Starks  
Department of Motor Vehicles Non-Voting Brigid Anderson  
District Department of Transportation Non-Voting & Secretary Jonathan Rogers