DC Board of Barber & Cosmetology June Meeting

Jun 3, 2024 10:00 am to 12:00 pm
Location name: 
Teleconference via WebEx
Street Address: 
Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) Office of Professional Licensing (OPL) DC Board of Barber & Cosmetology 1100 4th St SW Washington, DC 20024 (202)671-3500

The District of Columbia Board of Barber and Cosmetology regulates the practice of barbers, body artists, and cosmetologists, including specialty cosmetology practices such as braiding, electrolysis, esthetics, manicuring and others as the Mayor may from time to time establish by rule, instructors and managers of these practices, and owners of such facilities. The Board works diligently to raise the standards of practice, ensure quality service, establish accepted codes of ethical behavior, and protect the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens and visitors of the District of Columbia by upholding the city’s Barber and Cosmetology license law, which took effect on May 2001.

The Board of Barber and Cosmetology consists of 14 members, appointed by the Mayor: three barbers; three cosmetologists, three specialty cosmetologists; three body artists; and two consumer members. Eight members constitute a quorum

Board Members

Anwar S. Saleem, Ph.D. – Chair, Cosmetologist

Richard A. DeCarlo, Ph.D. – Cosmetologist

David Cavalcante – Body Artist

Vonetta Dumas-Jennings – Cosmetologist Specialty, Braider

Patrick Guarniere - Cosmetologist

Raymond L. Kibler, Ph.D. – Barber

Vernon Martin – Cosmetology Specialty, Esthetics

Jared Scott – Barber

Mark C. Wills – Barber

Mabel Carter – Consumer Member

Nanita Wilson – Consumer Member

Two (2) Vacancies – Body Artist

One (1) Vacancy – Cosmetology Specialty, Manicurist


To apply for a vacancy, please visit the Mayors Office of Talent & Acquisition http://mota.dc.gov/page/serving-board-or-commission for more information and an application.


Board Staff

Kimberly Troxler –  Board Administrator

Nicole McClendon – Program Manager

Jacqueline Noisette - Deputy Assistant Deputy Administrator

Terron McAbee – Program Support Specialist

Kevin Cyrus – Education Coordinator

Irina Moore – Exam Coordinator


Board of Barber & Cosmetology Website:

Board of Barber and Cosmetology | DLCP

DC Board of Barber & Cosmetology Public Agenda 6.3.2024
DC Board of Barber & Cosmetology Meeting Minutes - DRAFT 6.3.2024
Agency Name: 
Board of Barber and Cosmetology