Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

September 30, 2020 2:40 – 5:00 PM Meeting hosted remotely

Minutes

Call to Order

A remote meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held Wednesday, September 30, 2020 at 2:40 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. Four of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order, which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

This meeting was held remotely via Microsoft Teams due to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

Minutes

The Task Force reviewed meeting minutes from the August 26, 2020 meeting.

Sgt. Terry Thorne motioned to approve the meeting minutes and Linda Bailey seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Yes
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes

Department of Transportation







The meeting minutes were approved unanimously.

New Business

The Task Force discussed guidance from the Office of Open Government, pertaining to meeting notices. Future meeting agendas posted online on the Office of Open Government Website (https://www.open-dc.gov/) will include a prominent alert that the open portion of Task Force meetings is typically short and does not include information or discussion about crashes.

Closed Session

Eileen McCarthy motioned to enter a closed session of the meeting, and Linda Bailey seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Yes
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

Department of Transportation







D18-33 from December 17, 2018 in which a passenger in a motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator

S17-11 from July 11, 2017 in which a person walking was seriously injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for November 18, 2020 at 2:30 p.m. via Microsoft Teams.

Adjournment

Eileen McCarthy motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to adjourn the meeting taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 PM.

Department of Transportation







Attendance "sign-in sheet" – Participation via private MS Teams

Name	Agency	Present?
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Yes
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Det. Phuson Nguyen	MPD	
Det. Victor DePeralta	MPD	
Det. Jeffrey Bruce	MPD	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	Yes
Derek Voight	DDOT	Yes
Glenn Dubin	DDOT	
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher	OP	
Edward Estes	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler	BAC	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	
David Alexander	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes
Jonathan Rogers	DMOI	Yes
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Yes
Johnnie I. Barton	BEGA	Yes