Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

September 25, 2019 2:30 – 5:00 PM 55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least four of six voting agencies were present, which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the August meeting minutes from the prior month's meeting. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the August meeting minutes, Helen Urquhart seconded the motion, and the motion was passed.

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

Department of Transportation







Linda Bailey motioned to move into a closed session, and Kristin Calkins seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Yes
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson (not present)	DDOT	
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher (not present)	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale (not present)	PAC	
David Cranor (not present)	BAC	
Rachel Maisler (not present)	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D17-20 from August 2, 2017 at 10:44 pm, in which a passenger in a motor vehicle was killed in a collision with another motor vehicle and a fixed object

D17-25 from October 7, 2017 in which a pedestrian was killed in a collision with a motor vehicle

D18-5 from March 2, 2018 in which a pedestrian was killed in a collision with a motor vehicle

Department of Transportation







New Business

The Task Force discussed legislative options for adding the Department of Motor Vehicles as a voting member, as is described in the Task Force's 2018 annual report.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for October 30, 2019 at 2:30 p.m.

Adjournment

The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:45 p.m.

Department of Transportation







<u>Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force</u> Sign-In Sheet: September 25, 2019

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	1
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	Callo Con 7a
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	A BM
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager	
Kristin Calkins	ОР	Senior Transportation Planner	WALA
Tim Maher	OP	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	Ee Mu 11-
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6	
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	m2
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At- Large	0 /
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	Helen Ung mi on
Kristin Duquette	MAAC	Member	
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Processing Center Supervisor	10 Cin
Jonathan M. Rogers	DMOI	Senior Policy Advisor	Jul In
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	
Emily Dalphy	DDOT	Transportation Engineer	1
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	miss
Jeffery Bruce	MPD	Detective	10 Ba