Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

June 26, 2019 2:30 – 5:00 PM

55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least four of six voting agencies were present, which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the May meeting minutes from the prior month's meeting. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the March meeting minutes, Lt. Wilkins seconded the motion, and the motion was passed.

The Task Force discussed pending edits to the 2018 Annual Report. The group agreed to approve the report as amended. Linda Bailey motioned to approve the current draft of the annual report, Kristin Calkins seconded the motion and the motion was approved.

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records

Department of Transportation







memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved. Linda Bailey motioned to move to a closed session of the meeting. Lt. Wilkins seconded the motion.

A roll call vote was taken among voting members present:

Lt. Wilkins (MPD): Aye Linda Bailey (DDOT): Aye Eileen McCarthy (PAC): Aye Kristin Calkins (OP): Aye

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D18-11 from May 7, 2018 in which a pedestrian was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

D18-14 from May 25, 2018 in which a motor-vehicle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a fixed object

D18-15 June 9, 2018 in which a motorcycle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

New Business

No new business was discussed.

Announcements

Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for July 31, 2019.

Department of Transportation







Adjournment

Linda Bailey motioned to adjourn the meeting, Helen Urquhart seconded the motion, and the motion was passed. The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 5:00 p.m.

Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

Sign-In Sheet: June 26, 2019

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	Ho: 6.252
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	Linda Bai
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager)
Kristin Calkins	OP	Senior Transportation Planner	MACK
Tim Maher	OP	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	9. 11. 11.
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	W IV
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6	7 22
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	2 0
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At-Large	
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	Hall
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Processing Center Supervisor	PCD/ CIA
Jonathan M. Rogers	DDOT	Policy Analyst	Sat Par
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	
Emily Dalphy	DDOT	Transportation Engineer	timler ofly.
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	more
effery Bruce	MPD	Detective	