**Department of Transportation** 



## Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

May 29, 2019 3:00 – 5:30 PM 55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

### **Minutes**

### **Call to Order**

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at approximately 3:00 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least four of six voting agencies were present, which constituted a quorum.

### **Open Session**

The Task Force discussed the May meeting minutes from the prior month's meeting. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the March meeting minutes, Lt. Wilkins seconded the motion, and the motion was passed.

The Task Force discussed the possibility of circulating MPD major crash unit closure memos ahead of each month's meeting, to make review of crashes more efficient. The Task Force would request a redacted version of the memos. MPD will seek input from their FOIA Officers and report back to the Task Force in June.

The Task Force also discussed plans to review the remaining 2017 crashes the major crash unit investigated, but were not yet issued a declination from the US Attorney's Office. These crashes were not included in the 2018 annual report because they could not reviewed by the Task Force.

**Department of Transportation** 



The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

A roll call vote was taken among voting members present: Lt. Wilkins (MPD): Aye Linda Bailey (DDOT): Aye Helen Urquhart (MAAC): Aye Eileen McCarthy (PAC): Aye Kristin Calkins (OP): Aye

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

**D18-3** from December 31, 2017 in which a pedestrian was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

**D18-6** from March 9, 2018 in which a motor-vehicle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a fire engine operator

#### **New Business**

No new business was discussed.

**Department of Transportation** 



#### Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for June 26, 2019.

The Task Force agreed to advance the regular meeting start time from 3:00 PM to 2:30 PM. Notice will be published in the DC Register in advance of future meetings.

### Adjournment

The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 5:15 p.m.

**Department of Transportation** 



Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force Sign-In Sheet: May 29, 2019

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	G. La . MPD - 500
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	(m B)
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager	()
Kristin Calkins	ОР	Senior Transportation Planner	NA CLES
Tim Maher	ОР	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	Em Maca
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6 <	This
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	4
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At-Large	
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	Ata Urgehan
Kristin Duquette	MAAC	Member	
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Processing Center Supervisor	On Shine
Jonathan M. Rogers	DDOT	Senior Policy Advisor	Ally
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	
Emily Dalphy	DDOT	Transportation Engineer	Emely Leg.
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	
Jeffery Bruce	MPD	Detective	