**Department of Transportation** 



# Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

May 27, 2020 2:30 – 4:45 PM Meeting hosted remotely

### **Minutes**

### **Call to Order**

A remote meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. All of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order, which constituted a quorum.

### **Open Session**

This meeting was held remotely due to the COVID-19 public health emergency. The Task Force reviewed the April 29, 2020 meeting minutes. Linda Bailey motioned to approve the meeting minutes, Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion, but noted an error that was since corrected. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed unanimously:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

### **Closed Session**

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a

**Department of Transportation** 



meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session typically involves review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved. The closed session was conducted using WebEx.

Kristin Calkins motioned to move into a closed session, and Linda Bailey seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

**D18-30** from October 16, 2018 in which a motorcycle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

**S18-17** from December 1, 2018 in which four operators and three passengers of motor vehicles were seriously injured in a collision involving six motor vehicles total

**S18-19** from December 14, 2018 in which two operators and three passengers of motor vehicles were seriously injured in a collision involving two motor vehicles

**Department of Transportation** 



### **New Business**

The task force discussed progress on the annual report and concerns regarding the requirements of the closed sessions of Task Force meetings and the non-disclosure agreement.

### Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for June 24, 2020 at 2:30 p.m. via Microsoft Teams.

### Adjournment

Eileen McCarthy motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

The meeting adjourned at 4:07 PM.

**Department of Transportation** 



### Attendance "sign-in sheet" – Participation via private WebEx

Name	Agency	Present?
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Yes
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Det. Phuson Nguyen	MPD	No
Det. Victor DePeralta	MPD	No
Det. Jeffrey Bruce	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	No
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	No
Derek Voight	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher	OP	No
Edward Estes	OP	No
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	No
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler	BAC	No
Jeff Johnson	BAC	No
David Alexander	BAC	No
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes
Jonathan Rogers	DMOI	Yes