Department of Transportation



Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

April 29, 2020 2:30 – 4:45 PM Meeting hosted remotely

Minutes

Call to Order

A remote meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. Five of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order, which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

The Task Force noted that most recent minutes are from the February 26, 2020 meeting, as there was no meeting held during the month of March due to the COVID-19 public health emergency. Linda Bailey motioned to approve the meeting minutes, Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed unanimously:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

The Task Force then discussed adding a new alternate voting member to represent the Office of Planning; Edward Estes. Linda Bailey motioned to approve the new alternate voting member, and Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed unanimously:

Department of Transportation



Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

Closed Session

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session typically involves review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved. The closed session was conducted using WebEx.

Eileen McCarthy motioned to move into a closed session, and Linda Bailey seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

Department of Transportation



During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D18-17 from July 4, 2018, in which a Motorcycle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

D19-16 from August 12, 2019 in which a pedestrian was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

D19-17 from September 30, 2019 in which a person operating a motorcycle was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

New Business

No new business was discussed.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for May 27, 2020 at 2:30 p.m. via WebEx.

Adjournment

Linda Bailey motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

Department of Transportation



Attendance "sign-in sheet" – Participation via private WebEx

Name	Agency	Present?
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	No
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Det. Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Yes
Det. Victor DePeralta	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	No
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher	OP	No
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	No
David Cranor	BAC	No
Rachel Maisler	BAC	No
Jeff Johnson	BAC	No
David Alexander	BAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes
Jonathan Rogers	DMOI	Yes