Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

April 24, 2019 3:00 – 5:30 PM

55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, April 24, 2019 at approximately 3:00 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least four of six voting agencies were present, which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the March meeting minutes from the prior month's meeting. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the March meeting minutes, Kristin Calkins seconded the motion, and the motion was passed.

The Task Force discussed membership from voting agencies and agreed to vote on new membership. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the following new voting members to the Task Force, David Cranor seconded the motion, and the motion was passed unanimously:

DDOT: Linda Bailey DDOT: Leon Anderson BAC: Rachel Maisler

Department of Transportation







The new membership of the Task Force is illustrated below:

Agency	Status Representative		Alternate	
Metropolitan Police Department	Voting & Co-Chairperson Lt. Ronald T. Wilkins Sgt. Terry Thorne			
District Department of Transportation	Voting & Co-Chairperson	Linda Bailey Leon Anderson		
Office of Planning	Voting	Kristin Calkins	Timothy Maher	
Pedestrian Advisory Council	Voting	Eileen McCarthy	Ameen Beale	
Bicycle Advisory Council	Voting	David Cranor	Rachel Maisler Jeff Johnson	
Multimodal Accessibility Advisory Council	Voting	Helen Urquhart	Kristin Duquette	
Department of Motor Vehicles	Non-Voting	Brigid Anderson		
District Department of Transportation	Non-Voting & Secretary	Jonathan Rogers	Dan Emerine	
District Department of Transportation	Non-Voting	Emily Dalphy		

The Task Force agreed to discuss the 2018 final report. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the final report, Kristin Calkins seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a

Department of Transportation







particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved. Kristin Calkins motioned to move into a closed session, Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion, and the motion was approved unanimously.

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D18-2 from December 24, 2017 in which the passenger of a motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with a fixed-object

D18-27 from September 24, 2018 in which a person on a bicycle was fatally injured in a collision with a motor-vehicle operator

New Business

No new business was discussed.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for May 29, 2019.

Adjournment

The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 5:00 p.m.

Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

Sign-In Sheet: April 24, 2019

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	VIA PHONE
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	Con B
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager	Muderan
Kristin Calkins	OP	Senior Transportation Planner	MAC
Tim Maher	OP	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	Tiley 11 car
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	11 999
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6	1
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At-Large	,
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	reger
Kristin Duquette	MAAC	Member	
Brigid Anderson		Processing Center Supervisor	man Sh
Jonathan M. Rogers	DDOT	Policy Analyst	Shin
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	
Emily Dalphy		Transportation Engineer	Foregoodly.
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	
Jeffery Bruce	MPD I	Detective	Allen-