Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

February 24, 2021 2:30 – 5:00 PM Meeting hosted remotely via MS Teams

Minutes

Call to Order

A remote meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 2:40 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least Four of the seven voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order (five were present), which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

This meeting was held remotely via Microsoft Teams due to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

Minutes

The Task Force reviewed meeting minutes from the December 16, 2020 meeting.

Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the meeting minutes and Brigid Anderson seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Yes

Department of Transportation







The meeting minutes were approved unanimously.

New Business

The Department of Motor Vehicles is now an official voting member of the Task Force.

The 2021 calendar of Task Force meetings was be published in the DC Register on January 15, 2021:

https://dcregs.dc.gov/Common/NoticeDetail.aspx?NoticeId=N101826

Closed Session

Kristen Calkins motioned to enter a closed session of the meeting, and Leon Anderson seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Linda Bailey	DDOT	YES
Leon Anderson	DDOT	YES
Kristin Calkins	OP	YES
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	YES
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	YES
Brigid Anderson	DMV	YES

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

Department of Transportation







During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D18-18 from July 3, 2018 in which a motor-driven cycle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator.

D18-29 from October 12, 2018 in which a person walking was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator.

Announcements

There were no announcements.

Adjournment

Linda Bailey motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to adjourn the meeting taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 4:15 PM.

Department of Transportation







Attendance "sign-in sheet" – Participation via MS Teams

Name	Agency	Present?
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Det. Phuson Nguyen	MPD	
Det. Victor DePeralta	MPD	
Det. Jeffrey Bruce	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	Yes
Derek Voight	DDOT	Yes
Glenn Dubin	DDOT	
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher	OP	
Edward Estes	OP	
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler	BAC	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	
David Alexander	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes
Jonathan Rogers	DMOI	Yes
Johnnie I. Barton	BEGA	