Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

December 4, 2019 2:30 – 5:00 PM

55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at approximately 2:45 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. Four of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order, which constituted a quorum. The fifth voting agency joined the meeting shortly thereafter.

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the November meeting minutes from the prior month's meeting. Linda Bailey motioned to approve the August meeting minutes, Helen Urquhart seconded the motion, and the motion was passed unanimously.

Closed Session

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals

Department of Transportation







involved.

Ameen Beale motioned to move into a closed session, and Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Lt. Ronald Wilkins (not present)	MPD	
Sgt. Terry Thorne (not present)	MPD	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher (not present)	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler (not present)	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D17-26 from October 8, 2017 in which a driver was fatally injured in a collision with another motor vehicle operator

D18-34/35 from December 19, 2018 in which two pedestrians were fatally injured in a collision with a charter bus operator

D19-4/5 from April 5, 2019 in which two drivers were fatally injured in a collision involving multiple motor vehicles and operators

New Business

The Task Force discussed completing the next annual report for 2019, as well as trends in the crashes reviewed this year.

Department of Transportation







Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for December 18, 2019 at 2:30 p.m.

Adjournment

Linda Bailey motioned to adjourn the meeting. Ameen seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 5:00 p.m.

Department of Transportation







<u>Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force</u>

Sign-In Sheet: December 4, 2019

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	Un 31
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager	Midson
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	Analyst	THE WILL
Kristin Calkins	OP	Senior Transportation Planner	
Tim Maher	OP	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	Andri Beel
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6	13
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At-Large	
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	Hollen Q Kranbran
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Processing Center Supervisor	
Jonathan M. Rogers	DMOI	Senior Policy Advisor	Take
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	l'
Emily Dalphy	DDOT	Transportation Engineer	A -
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	min
Jeffery Bruce	MPD	Detective	*