Department of Transportation



Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

December 18, 2019 2:30 – 5:00 PM 55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. Four of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order, which constituted a quorum. The fifth and sixth voting agencies joined later in the meeting.

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the December 4, 2019 meeting minutes from the prior meeting. Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the December 4, 2019 meeting minutes, Leon Anderson seconded the motion, and the motion was passed unanimously.

Closed Session

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an

Department of Transportation



open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

Leon Anderson motioned to move into a closed session, and Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Lt. Ronald Wilkins (not present)	MPD	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey (not present)	DDOT	
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins (not present at time of roll call)	OP	
Tim Maher (not present)	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale (not present)	PAC	
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler (not present)	BAC	
Helen Urquhart (not present at time of roll call)	MAAC	

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D17-24 from September 17, 2017 in which a passenger in a motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with another motor vehicle operator

D17-29 from October 30, 2017 in which the driver of a motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with another motor vehicle operator

D18-25 from September 12, 2018 in which a person walking was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator

Department of Transportation



New Business No new business was discussed.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for January 29, 2020 at 2:30 p.m.

Adjournment

Kristin Calkins motioned to adjourn the meeting. Sgt. Terry Thorne seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 5:00 p.m.

Department of Transportation



Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force Sign-In Sheet: December 18, 2019

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	Λ
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager	Audeson
Charlie Willson	DDOT	Analyst	Phl. Will
Kristin Calkins	ОР	Senior Transportation Planner	
Tim Maher	ОР	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	he Mulacom
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6	1/2
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At-Large	
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	Heler Ungubout
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Processing Center Supervisor	B. Sh Sino
Jonathan M. Rogers	DMOI	Senior Policy Advisor	Att
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	
Emily Dalphy	DDOT	Transportation Engineer	
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	mm
Jeffery Bruce	MPD	Detective	(JI)