**Department of Transportation** 







## Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

December 16, 2020 2:30 – 5:00 PM Meeting hosted remotely via MS Teams

#### **Minutes**

#### Call to Order

A remote meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held Wednesday, December 16, 2020 at 2:33 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least Four of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order (six were present), which constituted a quorum.

### **Open Session**

This meeting was held remotely via Microsoft Teams due to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

#### **Minutes**

The Task Force reviewed meeting minutes from the November 18, 2020 meeting.

Linda Bailey motioned to approve the meeting minutes and Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

### **Department of Transportation**







The meeting minutes were approved unanimously.

#### **New Business**

In two days (December 18, 2020) the Department of Motor Vehicles will become a voting member of the Task Force.

The 2021 calendar of Task Force meetings will be published in the DC Register.

#### **Closed Session**

Eileen McCarthy motioned to enter a closed session of the meeting, and David Cranor seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

## **Department of Transportation**







During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

**D17-12** from May 17, 2017 in which a pedestrian was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator

**D18-1** from December 24, 2017 in which a pedestrian was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator

#### **Announcements**

The 2021 meeting schedule will be published in the D.C. Register prior to the next Task Force meeting in January of 2021.

## Adjournment

Sgt. Terry Thorne motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to adjourn the meeting taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:45 PM.

## **Department of Transportation**







## Attendance "sign-in sheet" – Participation via MS Teams

Name	Agency	Present?
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Det. Phuson Nguyen	MPD	
Det. Victor DePeralta	MPD	Yes
Det. Jeffrey Bruce	MPD	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	
Derek Voight	DDOT	Yes
Glenn Dubin	DDOT	
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher	OP	
Edward Estes	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	Yes
David Cranor	BAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler	BAC	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	
David Alexander	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes
Jonathan Rogers	DMOI	Yes
Brigid Anderson	DMV	
Johnnie I. Barton	BEGA	