**Department of Transportation** 



# Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

October 18, 2020 2:30 – 5:00 PM Meeting hosted remotely

## **Minutes**

### Call to Order

A remote meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held Wednesday, November 18, 2020 at 2:35 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. At least Four of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order (four were present), which constituted a quorum.

### **Open Session**

This meeting was held remotely via Microsoft Teams due to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

### Minutes

The Task Force reviewed meeting minutes from the October 28, 2020 meeting.

Eileen McCarthy motioned to approve the meeting minutes and Linda Bailey seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes

**Department of Transportation** 



The meeting minutes were approved unanimously.

#### **New Business**

The Task Force discussed no new business.

### **Closed Session**

Eileen McCarthy motioned to enter a closed session of the meeting, and Linda Bailey seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken:

Name	Agency	Vote
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

**D20-20** from August 15, 2020 in which a motor vehicle operator was fatally injured in a collision with a fixed object

**D20-17** from June 30, 2020 in which a motor-driven cycle operator was fatally injured in a collision with another motor vehicle operator

**Department of Transportation** 



#### Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for December 16, 2020 at 2:30 p.m. via Microsoft Teams.

### Adjournment

Linda Bailey motioned to adjourn the meeting. Rachel Maisler seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to adjourn the meeting taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Yes

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:55 PM.

**Department of Transportation** 



# Attendance "sign-in sheet" – Participation via private MS Teams

Name	Agency	Present?
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Yes
Det. Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Yes
Det. Victor DePeralta	MPD	
Det. Jeffrey Bruce	MPD	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Charlie Wilson	DDOT	Yes
Derek Voight	DDOT	Yes
Glenn Dubin	DDOT	
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher	OP	
Edward Estes	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale	PAC	
David Cranor	BAC	
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Yes
Jeff Johnson	BAC	
David Alexander	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	
Jonathan Rogers	DMOI	Yes
Brigid Anderson	DMV	
Johnnie I. Barton	BEGA	