Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

October 30, 2019 2:30 – 5:00 PM

55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, October 30, 2019 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. Five of the six voting agencies were present, which constituted a quorum. (A voting member from the six voting agency joined the meeting late)

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the August meeting minutes from the prior month's meeting. Linda Bailey motioned to approve the August meeting minutes, Helen Urquhart seconded the motion, and the motion was passed unanimously.

Kristin Calkins motioned for a vote to designate Charlie Wilson as an alternate voting member of the Task Force representing DDOT. Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion. The vote was passed unanimously.

Closed Session

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The

Department of Transportation







closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

Eileen McCarthy motioned to move into a closed session, and Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

| Name | Agency | Vote |
|----------------------------------|--------|------|
| Lt. Ronald Wilkins (not present) | MPD | |
| Sgt. Terry Thorne | MPD | Yes |
| Linda Bailey | DDOT | Yes |
| Leon Anderson (not present) | DDOT | |
| Kristin Calkins | OP | Yes |
| Tim Maher (not present) | OP | |
| Eileen McCarthy | PAC | Yes |
| Ameen Beale (not present) | PAC | |
| David Cranor | BAC | Yes |
| Rachel Maisler (not present) | BAC | |
| Helen Urquhart | MAAC | Yes |

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D17-7 from March 9, 2017 in which a pedestrian was fatally injured in a collision with a person riding a bicycle

D17-19 from June 30, 2017 in which a person riding a bicycle was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator

D17-21 from August 5, 2017 in which a passenger in motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with a fixed object

Department of Transportation







New Business

The Task Force discussed potential timelines for completing the next annual report for 2019, as well as the scope of the report.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for November 20, 2019 at 2:30 p.m.

Adjournment

Linda Bailey motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:30 p.m.

Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

Sign-In Sheet: October 30, 2019

| Name | Agency | Position | Signature |
|--------------------|--------|-------------------------------------|-------------------|
| Lt. Ronald Wilkins | MPD | Lieutenant | |
| Sgt. Terry Thorne | MPD | Sergeant | 31 771 - |
| Linda Bailey | DDOT | Director, Vision Zero Division | 31 771 - CuRY |
| Leon Anderson | DDOT | Transportation Safety Manager | |
| Kristin Calkins | OP | Senior Transportation Planner | MATCH |
| Tim Maher | OP | Community Planner | |
| Eileen McCarthy | PAC | Member, Ward 3 | E MA |
| Ameen Beale | PAC | Member, Ward 8 | |
| David Cranor | BAC | Member, Ward 6 | |
| Rachel Maisler | BAC | Chair, Ward 4 | |
| Jeff Johnson | BAC | Secretary, At- Large | D |
| Helen G. Urquhart | MAAC | Member | Helen G. Algebore |
| Brigid Anderson | DMV | Processing Center Supervisor | |
| Jonathan M. Rogers | DMOI | Senior Policy Advisor | Tatal |
| Dan Emerine | DDOT | Policy Manager | |
| Emily Dalphy | DDOT | Transportation Engineer | |
| Analee Jimenez | MPD | Officer | |
| Phuson Nguyen | MPD | Detective | prom |
| Jeffery Bruce | MPD | Detective | |

Charles DOOT Analyst