Department of Transportation







Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force

January 29, 2020 2:30 – 5:00 PM

55 M St. SE – District Department of Transportation – Room 404

Minutes

Call to Order

A meeting of the Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force was held at the District Department of Transportation at 55 M St. SE on Wednesday, December 29, 2020 at approximately 2:30 p.m. Attendees included the persons listed in the attached sign-in sheet. Five of the six voting agencies were present when the meeting was called to order, which constituted a quorum.

Open Session

The Task Force discussed the December 18, 2019 meeting minutes from the prior meeting. Helen Urquhart motioned to approve the December 18, 2019 meeting minutes, Eileen McCarthy seconded the motion, and the motion was passed unanimously.

Closed Session

The Task Force agreed to proceed to crash review, and to enter a closed session to do so. Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(1), which allows for closure of a meeting or portion of a meeting when a "law or court order requires that a particular matter or proceeding not be public," the Task Force moved into a closed session because members specifically discussed the details of major crashes, which contained personally identifiable information and other sensitive material. The closed session involved review of review video and photographic records memorializing vehicular, pedestrian and other modal collisions and related fatalities, which may reveal images of such a personal and graphic nature that revelation in an

Department of Transportation







open meeting would violate the personal privacy interests of the individuals involved.

Linda Bailey motioned to move into a closed session, and Lt. Ronald Wilkins seconded the motion. A roll-call vote to enter a closed session was taken, with the following voting members:

Name	Agency	Vote
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Yes
Sgt. Terry Thorne (not present)	MPD	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Yes
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Yes
Kristin Calkins	OP	Yes
Tim Maher (not present)	OP	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Yes
Ameen Beale (not present)	PAC	
David Cranor (not present)	BAC	
Rachel Maisler (not present)	BAC	
Helen Urquhart	MAAC	Yes

During the closed session, the following crashes were reviewed:

D19-21 from October 24, 2019 in which a person walking was fatally injured in a collision with a motor vehicle operator

D19-07 from April 20, 2019 in which the driver of a motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with a fixed object

D19-10 from April 21, 2019 in which the driver of a motor vehicle was fatally injured in a collision with a fixed object

Department of Transportation







New Business

No new business was discussed.

Announcements

Following the meeting, Jonathan Rogers scheduled the date and time of the next meeting of the Task Force for February 26, 2020 at 2:30 p.m.

Adjournment

Leon Anderson motioned to adjourn the meeting. Helen Urquhart seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The task force adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:45 p.m.

Department of Transportation







<u>Vision Zero Major Crash Review Task Force</u>

Sign-In Sheet: January 29, 2020

Name	Agency	Position	Signature
Lt. Ronald Wilkins	MPD	Lieutenant	4
Sgt. Terry Thorne	MPD	Sergeant	
Linda Bailey	DDOT	Director, Vision Zero Division	CA B
Leon Anderson	DDOT	Transportation Safety Manager	110801.
Charlie Willson	DDOT	Analyst	Will Will
Kristin Calkins	OP	Senior Transportation Planner	Value of
Tim Maher	OP	Community Planner	
Eileen McCarthy	PAC	Member, Ward 3	EMA
Ameen Beale	PAC	Member, Ward 8	
David Cranor	BAC	Member, Ward 6	
Rachel Maisler	BAC	Chair, Ward 4	
Jeff Johnson	BAC	Secretary, At-Large	
Helen G. Urquhart	MAAC	Member	Helon Ogruhan (
Brigid Anderson	DMV	Processing Center Supervisor	Di India
Jonathan M. Rogers	DMOI	Senior Policy Advisor	adh
Dan Emerine	DDOT	Policy Manager	
Emily Dalphy	DDOT	Transportation Engineer	
Analee Jimenez	MPD	Officer	
Ocheralta, Victor Phuson Nguyen	MPD	Detective	the forest
Withs Mitchey Jeffery Bruce	MPD	Detective	Willed