Commission on Out of School Time Grants and Youth Outcomes Meeting Minutes September 6, 2018 6:00pm – 7:30pm One Judiciary Square, 441 4th Street NW, Room 1107 South, Washington, DC 20001

Commissioners In Attendance:	Valrie Brown (designee for Sheryl Hamilton), Tacharna Crump (6:10), Vanessa Gerideau (6:17), Mark Hecker, Darby Hickey, Travaughn Kinney, Lisa McNeill, Vice Chairperson Walter Peacock (6:21), Chairperson Heather Peeler, Anisah Rasheed, Maggie Riden, Aurora Steinle, Mila Yochum
Commissioners Absent:	Burnell Holland (excused), Jiselle O'Neal (excused), Margaret Siegel (excused)
Attending Staff Members:	Alex Brown, Debra Eichenbaum, Jeremy Welsh-Loveman

I. Call to Order

The Commission meeting was called to order by Peeler at 6:03 pm.

II. Public Comments

Public comment by Daniela Grigioni, Executive Director, After-School All-Stars DC, testified that community based organizations providing after school services at certain DCPS buildings are suddenly and without warning being billed for security costs. After-School All-Stars works at 4 DCPS schools and received a bill for \$50,000 to cover costs of security at two DCPS locations. Written testimony was provided.

III. Announcement of a Quorum

11 members were present at time of roll call and quorum was announced. Peeler announced the resignation of Commissioner Jeanette Kowalik.

IV. Approval of the Agenda

Riden motioned to approve agenda. Hecker seconded the motion. Unanimous approval, agenda approved.

V. Approval of the Minutes

Hecker motioned to approve the minutes. Steinle seconded the motion. Peeler and Riden abstain. Motion carries with 8 approving. Minutes approved.

VI. Updates: Office of Out of School Time Grants and Youth Outcomes

Yochum provided the following updates:

- \$6.2 Million awarded for School Year 18-19
- 80 Organizations
 - \circ 39 Continuation grantees receiving up to \$100,000
 - o 17 Community Based grantees receiving up to \$25,000
 - o 30 New grantees

VII. Strategic Plan (Public Vote)

Peeler requested a motion to approve the Strategic Plan. Gerideau motioned to approve the strategic plan. Riden seconded. Roll call vote. Unanimous approval, strategic plan approved.

VIII. Committee Discussion

In the bylaws, there are four Standing Committees: Strategic Plan, Needs Assessment; Quality and Governance. There are four Strategic Committees: Funding and Capacity Building, Quality, Outcomes and Coordination and Collaboration. The Quality Committees will be combined. Ballots were distributed to all Commissioners to select Committee preference and vetting and application process for public members was discussed.

IX. Adjournment

Riden made a motion to adjourn. Kinney seconded the motion. Unanimous approval. Meeting adjourned at 6:56pm.