MEETING MINUTES DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS COMMISSION ON THE SELECTION AND TENURE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

June 5, 2019

The Commission on the Selection and Tenure of Administrative Law Judges of the District of Columbia Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) met on Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:00 p.m. in the BEGA Hearing Room, 441 4th Street NW, Washington, DC, 20001.

Committee Members

Chair Judge Yvonne Williams Joseph Onek Nadine Wilburn Rob Hawkins Eugene Adams

Attendance

Vanessa Natale Louis Neal Kim Webb

William England

John Rooney

Deborah Carroll

Alexis Taylor

JP Howard

Margaret Mangan

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. by Chair Jude Yvonne Williams

Judge Williams: This meeting of the Commission on the Selection and Tenure of Administrative Law Judges is called to Order. This meeting is called for the purpose of considering and voting on the reappointment of two (2) administrative law judges."

I will now conduct a roll call. Each member will please indicate their presence by saying "present."

I, Judge Yvonne Williams, am PRESENT

Joe Onek: Present

Nadine Wilburn: Present

Rob Hawkins: Present

Chief Judge Adams: Present

Judge Williams: I ascertain that all of the voting members are present. Therefore, a quorum is

established.

Adoption of Agenda

Judge Williams: I have reviewed the Agenda, and move that it be adopted as the official Agenda for this meeting.

Joe Onek, Nadine Wilburn: Second.

Judge Williams: This Agenda is therefore adopted as the official Agenda for this meeting.

Executive/Closed Session (non-public).

Judge Williams: As the Chair, I move to close this meeting pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(10), to discuss, amongst other things, the appointment of government appointees – specifically here, two (2) OAH ALJs."

I will now take a vote to close:

I, Judge Yvonne Williams, vote to close this meeting. Agree?

Joe Onek: Aye.

Nadine Wilburn: Aye.

Rob Hawkins: Aye.

Chief Judge Adams: Aye.

Judge Williams: All members of the Commission have voted in favor of closing this meeting. Therefore, this meeting is officially closed for now.

[CLOSED SESSION – pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-575(b)(10).]

Resumption of Public Meeting

Judge Williams: The public session of this meeting is reconvened and called to order. I will call for a vote to officially reopen this meeting.

I, Judge Yvonne Williams, vote to re-open this meeting. Agree?

Joe Onek: Aye.

Nadine Wilburn: Aye.

Rob Hawkins: Aye.

Chief Judge Adams: Aye.

Judge Williams: All members of the Commission have voted in favor of re-opening this meeting. Therefore, this meeting is officially re-opened to the public. All members are again present and a quorum retained."

During the Closed Session, the Commission voted on the reappointees as follows:

Judge Deborah Carroll has been voted on to be reappointed; Judge Alexis Taylor has been voted on to be reappointed;

[Judge Williams congratulated the reappointees and told them that they are credits to the office]

Judge Williams: Reappointment letters will be delivered to all reappointees - hopefully by the end of the day.

Is there any other Commission business that does not require closed session? If not, this meeting is ADJOURNED at 2:17pm.