GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ADMINISTRATIVE ISSUANCE SYSTEM

Mayor's Order 2013-243 December 23, 2013

SUBJECT: Re-Establishment of the District of Columbia Commission on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday

ORIGINATING AGENCY: Office of the Mayor

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Mayor of the District of Columbia pursuant to section 422(11) of the District of Columbia Home Rule Act, approved December 24, 1973, 87 Stat. 790, Pub. L. 93-198, D.C. Official Code § 1-204.22(11) (2012 Repl.), it is hereby **ORDERED** that:

I. ESTABLISHMENT

This Order re-establishes the District of Columbia Commission on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday ("Commission") in the executive branch of the District government.

II. PURPOSE

The Commission shall assist the Mayor on matters relating to the District's celebration of the annual public holiday commemorating the birth of Martin Luther King, Jr. celebrated on January 15th or on the third Monday in January of each year.

III. FUNCTIONS

- A. The Commission shall perform the following functions:
 - 1. Make recommendations on activities to be sponsored by the District of Columbia government for the holiday and assist in the implementation of approved events;
 - 2. Encourage educational programs relating to the holiday designed to increase participation in the activities and commemorate Dr. King's legacy with a day of service; and
 - 3. Undertake other duties as are assigned by the Mayor.

IV. COMPOSITION

- A. The Commission shall have a maximum of twenty-three (23) voting members.
- B. The Commission may include eight (8) *ex officio* members from the following offices or agencies:
 - 1. Office of Human Rights;
 - 2. Office of the Secretary of the District of Columbia;
 - 3. Office of Community Affairs;
 - 4. District of Columbia Public Schools;
 - 5. District of Columbia Public Library;
 - 6. Serve DC;
 - 7. Commission on the Arts and Humanities;
 - 8. District of Columbia Youth Advisory Council;
 - 9. Office of Religious Affairs; or
 - 10. The Chairman of the Council of the District of Columbia, with consent, or his or her designee.
- C. The Mayor shall appoint up to fifteen (15) private citizens as Commission members. All members must be residents of the District of Columbia.

V. TERMS

- A. Each member of the Commission who is not a government employee shall be appointed for a term of two years. Members may serve until reappointed or replaced.
- B. Each member of the Commission who is a government employee shall serve only while employed in their official position and shall serve at the pleasure of the Mayor.
- C. Any member appointed by the Mayor may be removed for failure to attend three (3) consecutive meetings.

VI. COMPENSATION

Members shall serve without compensation.

VII. ORGANIZATION

A. The Secretary of the District of Columbia shall serve as the Chair of the Commission, and shall appoint a Vice Chair to lead the Commission in the absence of the Chair. The Commission may elect such other officers as are deemed necessary.

B. The Chair may appoint subcommittees as needed, each chaired by a member of the Commission. District residents who are not members of the Commission may be invited to serve on subcommittees.

VIII. ADMINISTRATION

- A. The Office of the Secretary shall provide primary administrative and technical support to the Commission.
- B. Each department, agency, instrumentality, or independent agency of the District shall cooperate with the Commission and provide any information, in a timely manner, that the Commission requests to carry out the provisions of this Order.

IX. RESCISSION

Mayor's Order 2008-17, dated January 24, 2008 is rescinded.

X. EFFECTIVE DATE: This Order shall become effective immediately.

C. GRAY

VINCENT C. GRAY MAYOR

ATTEST:

-

CYNTHIA BROCK-SMITH SECRETARY OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA